*** NEW *** Senate File 29, Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts passed in the 2021 legislative session.
Effective July 1, 2021 individuals will apply to become a notary and renew notary commissions with the WY Secretary of State. The County Clerk will no longer be involved in the process. Those applying or renewing before July 1, 2021 will work with the County Clerk's Office.
Eligibility to become a Notary Public
- Individuals at least 18 years of age
- Residents of the State of Wyoming and the County from which the application is made
- Individuals that can read and write the English language
To become a notary public, an individual must complete an application (PDF) and send it to the Wyoming Secretary of State with a $30 fee. A person is commissioned as a notary for a term of four years.
The Secretary of State will issue a commission and send a certificate to the Clerk's office. Within 60 days of the Clerk receiving this certificate, the applicant must submit to the County Clerk and oath and bond in the amount of $500. At that time, the County Clerk will record the certificate and the bond at the current recording fee.
Each notary public must provide him or herself with an official seal. This seal must show his or her name, the words "notary public," the name of the County where residing, and the word "Wyoming."
For more information on becoming a notary public, you may contact the land department of the Clerk's office at 307-328-2677 or visit the Secretary of State's website.